Unfortunately not. There’s no way to pause a subscription without canceling it. To cancel your subscription, simply follow these instructions from Apple. We, of course, welcome you back anytime!
To avoid losing your progress, be sure not to uninstall the app. If you uninstall it, you’ll lose all your progress.